Yield Source Diversification - Static Deposits (Degenbox)

I was reading the Yield Reserve top up post from July and noticed Ryan mention the potential for making productive use of idle UST in Anchor.

We currently have over 5 Billion UST and approx 1.3 Billion (Degen box) which we know is completely stationary in Earn.

Are we able to put this to productive use to help support the Yield Reserve? It’s worth taking a look at Yearn or Origin Protocol how they use various low risk strategies for their token holders to produce a safe and consistent yield.

They have a team (DAO) that is continuously managing their yield strategy through various lending platforms (Compound / Aave) and LP (Curve / Convex) including liquidity mining reward tokens.

I’m not an expert in this area, but I am sure there is something that can be done to help supplement the yield reserves, specifically using static UST deposits. Perhaps even within the Terra ecosystem to avoid rotating that UST into other stables.

This post is just to spark ideas from those with far more yield farming knowledge, at scale than I have.

1 Like

Just to add to this. It will be a lot easier to implement yield diversification strategies from deposits if we had time locks.

This brings us back round to earlier suggestions of having instant and time locked yields as below:

Earn (10% APY - instant access)
Earn 30 (19.5% APY - 30 day lock)
Earn 90 (21.5% APY - 90 day lock)

If we implement this right now, we probably wouldn’t even need to start looking at yield diversification for a while. It would immediately dig us out of this hole we’re in.

The advantage of the timelock means we can safely rotate these funds into strategies as deposits become locked in.

A combination of improved borrowing + yield diversification will make Anchor much more sustainable.