The Fall and Rise of Anchor Protocol

The fall in UST and LUNA prices caught my attention and I have been studying this for the past few days. As an economist, I believe that the system is being revived, and I thought I should share my ideas with you, and I hope it will speed up the process of reviving the system.

1- Why did this crisis arise?

So far, many experts explained the problem, but it seems they explain part of it. In my opinion, from an economic point of view, the anchor protocol system reached a market equilibrium in a short period of time and a crisis began. In general, capital always tends to go where the highest interest rates are offered. As the amount of deposits in the system increased, interest rates fell steadily and at one point became so low that the system no longer had an advantage over other investment opportunities, at which time depositors had the high potential for deposits elsewhere. Especially when depositors anticipate that the earn rate will fall even more every month, exacerbating capital outflows. This is exactly what happened after May 4th. In addition, the formula presented in the March 2 proposal seems to have slowed down interest rate changes. Therefore, the market could not quickly rebuild itself by changing interest rates. In this situation, with a decrease in UST prices, it was no longer possible to support the 18% APY and capital began to flow out, which worsened the situation.

2 - Will the system return and the price of Terra and Luna will increase?

In the current situation, on the one hand, the demand for loans will increase, which will increase the income from loans, and on the other hand, more deposits will be withdrawn, which will result in paying higher interest rates to depositors. As this trend continues, rising interest rates create a balance between borrowers and depositors, at which point the outflow of deposits stops.